Blue Ring Sports

Welcome to Blue Ring Sports! For a sports blog the name may seem peculiar, but as with everything in life, there is a purpose. I started this site because of my love of the Olympic Games.

I recorded the entire Vancouver 2010 Games on thirty-something VHS tapes that now sit on a bookshelf at my house in Baltimore. I took a course on the Olympic Movement during my semester abroad at the University of Queensland in 2015; and I am looking to work during the Winter Olympics next February in PyeongChang, South Korea for NBC in some capacity.

Suffice to say I am passionate about the Olympics. But what does that passion have to do with a “Blue Ring?”

If you look at the Olympic Flag, it resembles a world map. The blue ring in the upper left hand corner (while never confirmed, represents the Americas – North and South). Since I love the Olympics and hail from North America, put two and two together and you understand the blog title’s origin.

Officially, this is a project worth 30% of my grade for Sports and Society, a journalism course with renowned sportswriter, Alan Abrahamson, at the University of Southern California.

Unofficially, this is where we will cover everything from the NFL playoffs, to March Madness, Opening Day, the lead up to the International Olympic Committee’s announcement of the host city for the 2024 Summer Olympic Games and everything in between.

As with any good journalist, this blog isn’t all about me. It’s also about you the reader. I want to cover what you want me to cover. If you have interesting ideas and stories you think deserve a brighter light, the contact button works.

Like you, I am tired of the same monotonous articles that assume like Sgt. Schultz, from the 1960s TV sitcom Hogan’s Heroes, you “know nothing” about sports. So if you’re looking for the John Madden treatment, this probably isn’t the blog for you.

But if you would like some “in depth” analysis of today’s world in sports, then join me inside The Blue Ring!

 

